### MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS LAMPETER-STRASBURG SCHOOL DISTRICT Virtual Meeting September 21, 2020

President Melissa S. Herr called the meeting to order at 7:35 p.m.

- PRESENT: Board Members, Mr. David J. Beiler, Mr. James H. Byrnes, Mrs. Melissa S. Herr, Mr. Scott J. Kimmel, Mr. Dustin D. Knarr, Mr. Matthew E. Parido, Mrs. Patricia M. Pontz, Mrs. Audra R. Spahn; Superintendent, Dr. Kevin S. Peart; Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Andrew M. Godfrey; Business Manager, Mr. Keith A. Stoltzfus; Director of Technology, Mr. William E. Griscom, Jr.; Administrative Assistant, Mrs. Mary E. Williams.
- ABSENT: Board Member, Mr. Scott M. Arnst.

### APPROVAL OF RESIGNATIONS

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve a resignation from Samantha M. Wilson, 10month guidance secretary, Lampeter-Strasburg High School, effective September 23, 2020.

On roll call vote:

Ayes:Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. SpahnAbstain:NoneNays:NoneAbsent:Mr. Arnst

### APPROVAL OF CHANGE OF STATUS

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve a change of employment status for Leslie A. Stimeling, SACC assistant group supervisor, Lampeter Elementary School. Ms. Stimeling had an increase in hours and will become a category D support employee retroactively effective to August 26, 2020. Her compensation will remain \$12.32 per hour.

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

### APPROVAL OF LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve leaves of absence for the following individuals:

- a. Jodi A. Fry, custodian, Martin Meylin Middle School, retroactively effective to September 11, 2020, through on or about November 18, 2020.
- b. Melissa M. Gramley, special education consultant, Lampeter-Strasburg School District, effective on or about February 25, 2021, through April 9, 2021.

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

### APPROVAL OF CHANGES TO SUPPLEMENTAL CONTRACTS

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve following additions/deletions to supplemental contracts:

a.	John Achille	Bowling – Varsity	\$ 1,976.70	Addition
b.	Jennifer Risser	Department Head – MM Language Arts	\$ 1,187.00	Deletion
c.	Paula Long	Department Head – MM Language Arts	\$ 1,187.00	Addition
d.	Carol Allen-Gordon	Literary Magazine (Enigma)	\$ 1,890.50	Deletion
e.	Kenneth Neumann	Morning Announcements – Pioneer TV – MM	\$ 2,736.25	Deletion

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

## APPROVAL OF SUBSTITUTES

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve substitutes in their respective capacities, as follows:

<u>Certified Substitute</u> Stefanow, Abigail R.

Grades PK-4

Emergency Certified Substitute Lovern, Jamie L.

All Instructional Areas

Support Staff Substitutes Pieters, Michelle L. Reiff, Austin L.

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

#### APPROVAL OF VOLUNTEERS

Mrs. Spahn moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve 2020-2021 volunteers, as follows:

Lewis, Krista M. Smith, Brian D.

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

## DISCUSSION OF PSBA PRINCIPLES FOR GOVERNANCE AND LEADERSHIP

Dr. Peart led a discussion on the PSBA Principles for Governance and Leadership: Advocate Earnestly.

### DISCUSSION OF PSBA 2020 SLATE OF CANDIDATES

Dr. Peart led a discussion of the 2020 PSBA Slate of Candidates. Thereafter, Mr. Byrnes moved and Mr. Beiler seconded the motion to approve the 2020 PSBA Slate of Candidates, as follows:

a.	President Elect:	David Hein	
b.	Vice President	Daniel O'Keefe	
c.	Treasurer	Michael Gossert	
d.	Western at Large	Marsha Pleta	
e.	Section 2 Advisor	Aimee Kemick	
f.	Section 4 Advisor	Brian Petula	
g.	Section 6 Advisor	Andrea Christoff	
h.	PSBA Insurance Trust (May Vote for 2)	Michael Faccinetto Marianne Neel	

i. Form Steering Committee (May Vote for 2) Stephen Skrocki Tracy Long

On roll call vote: Ayes: Mr. Beiler, Mr. Byrnes, Mrs. Herr, Mr. Kimmel, Mr. Knarr, Mr. Parido, Mrs. Pontz, Mrs. Spahn Abstain: None Nays: None Absent: Mr. Arnst

# ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:49 p.m.

Mary E. Williams Secretary