stay connected

High School Heroes Go Virtual

2021 High School Heroes web

The popular High School Heroes program was among many school activities thrown into jeopardy this year due to COVID-19 restrictions. Visits by seniors to third-grade classrooms, the heart of the mentoring program, were out of the question. But the four dozen seniors who make up this year's High School Heroes weren't ready to give up. Instead, they're going virtual.

The Heroes plan to meet with small groups of third-graders through Google Hangouts when they can't be in person. Meetings are scheduled in November, January, March, and April. Seniors will talk about their lives, share interests, and focus on the importance of healthy lifestyles and positive decisions. Third graders can ask questions, chat with their new friends, and receive trading cards for each Hero they meet.

High school English teacher Susan Rettew leads a high school committee to select Heroes from each year's current junior class. Chosen students are invited during the summer and trained in time for their first visit. Third-grade teacher Jo Carole Dodson coordinates the program at Hans Herr Elementary School.

"Hats off to Jo Carole and the third grade teachers for making this work," said Mrs. Rettew. "No one wanted to disappoint the chosen Heroes by canceling the program, and the third grade teachers have been so accommodating! What a great group of educators! Also, many thanks to Adam Zurn who is publishing all of the trading cards for the Heroes. I asked him if he could create the cards, and he said, 'Sure, I think I can do that.' He gives and never complains."

Thank you to our hardworking faculty for keeping this tradition alive, and congratulations to the 2021 High School Heroes!

2020-2021 High School Heroes

  • Conner Armstrong
  • Robert Bennethum
  • Alex Blank
  • John Blochberger
  • Dom Brazzle
  • Camryn Byler
  • Elijah Carr
  • Riley Dawson
  • Elizabeth Deardorff
  • Nathan Eberly
  • Owen Fikkert
  • Daisy Frank
  • Joe Frego
  • Jaden Guisbert
  • Ian Herr
  • Ema Hollinger
  • Elizabeth Horner
  • Liana Howe
  • Jack Kendig
  • Alex Knapp
  • Jordan Knisely
  • Bryce Kondras
  • Rowen Krantz
  • Katie Lapinsky
  • Jenna Lapp
  • Josie Lau
  • Jenna Manion
  • Megan Manion
  • McKenzie Manning
  • Jackie Martin
  • Colin McDonald
  • Fabiano Moscoso-Rondon
  • Parker Owens
  • Makensy Pletcher
  • Austin Reiff
  • Collin Reinacher
  • Crosby Renninger
  • Zach Shelley
  • Nick Smucker
  • Julie Stinson
  • Taylor Straley
  • Megan Stratton
  • Jack Swarr
  • Landon Teeter
  • Nasya Warfel
  • Emma Westcott
  • Morgan Whitaker
  • Alyssa Zaepfel
Pioneer white on Transparent footer
Join Our Communities

Lampeter-Strasburg School District
1600 Book Rd., Lancaster PA 17602

Phone: 717-464-3311

Administration Building: 717-464-4699
Lampeter Elementary School: 717-358-1880
Hans Herr Elementary School: 717-509-0300
Martin Meylin Middle School: 717-509-0289
Lampeter-Strasburg High School: 717-509-0485


Lampeter-Strasburg School District© 2021 Lampeter-Strasburg School District, All Rights Reserved.
 website built and created by M StreetLampeter-Strasburg School District's website built and created by
M Street, Website Design Agency Lancaster PA
Your Name