stay connected

Employees, Alumna Honored at Annual Recognition Banquet
Christine Willig is Teacher of the Year

2018 Recognition Honorees

2018 VIPs: Suzanne Meskers, Teddi Book, Jean Sware, Linda Kauffman, Susan Doll, Katherine Stehman, Emily Vasey, Diane Rhinier, Jeffrey Brown, Debra Smith, Mark Trach, Bob Eavenson, Christine Willig, Terry Sweigart

The 44th annual Board Recognition Banquet took place on Friday, May 11, 2018, at Martin Meylin Middle School. This is the event at which the Board and administrators honor retirees and employees with 25 years of service and present the yearly awards for Teacher of the Year and Distinguished Alumni. Dinner is prepared by the Martin Meylin kitchen staff and served by Pioneer Interact Club members. This year, the L-S High School Orchestra Chamber Ensembles Project provided the evening’s entertainment.

Teacher of the Year - Christine Willig

Willig Teacher of the Year 2018 web Teacher of the Year - Christine Willig

Middle school teacher Christine Willig received the District’s Master of Pedagogy award for 2018. She was nominated by her peers at Martin Meylin and introduced by Martin Meylin principal Jamie Raum. Willig is a native of the Catskills region of New York state and a graduate of Millersville University and Eastern Mennonite University. Originally hired as the district’s first ESL teacher, she has spent the past 21 years as a sixth grade English Language Arts teacher. Outside of school, Willig enjoys traveling, reading, spending time outdoors, and attending her children’s many volleyball games. She resides in Conestoga with her husband and two teenage children. Her oldest daughter is currently serving in Guatemala with the Peace Corp.

Willig credits retired superintendent Robert Frick, Martin Meylin principal Michael Burcin, and teacher Barry Decker as influences and mentors. It was Decker who provided the advice to “believe in yourself and to know that your wild ideas can come to life when you give ownership to students.” Willig is known as a fun loving, energetic, and innovative teacher who develops lasting relationships with her students. Many stop by her classroom to visit, even after leaving middle school, and she has even attended past students’ weddings.

Distinguished Alumni Award - Mary Caperton Morton

Morton web Distinguished Alumni Award - Mary Caperton Morton

This year’s award went to science and travel writer Mary Caperton Morton from the Class of 2000. She was nominated by retired LSHS English teacher Janis Harrington and selected by a committee of former teachers and administrators. Morton graduated from Franklin & Marshall College and received her masters degree in journalism from Johns Hopkins University. She is a freelance writer, world traveler, and founder of the popular blog Travels with the Blonde Coyote. Her book Aerial Geology: A High-Altitude Tour of North America’s Spectacular Volcanoes, Canyons, Glaciers, Lakes, Craters and Peaks was among the New York Times Top Ten Travel Books of 2017*. She also serves as an EMT on the search and rescue team at the Big Sky Resort in Montana.

Morton expressed gratitude to current and retired L-S faculty members, including Mrs. Harrington, Mr. Sterner, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Marsh, and Mr. Albanese, and the District’s gifted program for providing an opportunity for her to think and learn in her own, independent style. This thought was echoed by her mother, Caroline Morton, who accepted the Distinguished Alumni Award on her behalf. Mrs. Morton urged teachers to look for and nurture students like Mary, who may be cultivating their own unique paths to success.

25-Year Service Awards

Linda Kauffman received an award for 25 years of service to L-S. Mrs. Kauffman is the principal's secretary at Martin Meylin Middle School.

Retiree Recognition

Twelve retiring employees received recognition and thanks through remarks from their supervisors.

  • Terry Sweigart - district business manager
  • Jeffrey Brown - district accountant
  • Charles (Bob) Eavenson - Martin Meylin lead custodian
  • Diane Rhinier - assistant food service manager
  • Debra Smith - Martin Meylin kitchen helper
  • Teddi Book - High School nurse and 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year
  • Mark Trach - High School physical education teacher**
  • Katherine Stehman - elementary librarian
  • Susan Doll - Hans Herr music teacher and choral director
  • Emily Vasey - fourth grade classroom teacher***
  • Suzanne Meskers - Lampeter library assistant
  • Jean Sware - Lampeter principal’s secretary

Also retiring but not in attendance were Lisa Feerrar, sixth grade English Language Arts teacher; Warren Hoffman, high school custodian; Linda Long Wettig, Hans Herr lead custodian; Dale Martin, field house custodian; Kimberly Nielsen, special education teacher assistant; Gary Schreckengost, social studies teacher; Sharon Styer, classroom aide; and Pamela Weidman, high school custodian. Combined, the 2018 retirees have 422 years of service to our community’s children.


*Ms. Morton graciously donated a signed copy of Aerial Geology: A High-Altitude Tour of North America’s Spectacular Volcanoes, Canyons, Glaciers, Lakes, Craters and Peaks to the LSHS library.
**Mr. Trach will continue to coach tennis at L-S
***Mrs. Vasey will retire in December 2018

Pioneer white on Transparent footer
Join Our Communities

Lampeter-Strasburg School District
1600 Book Rd., Lancaster PA 17602

Phone: 717-464-3311

Administration Building: 717-464-4699
Lampeter Elementary School: 717-358-1880
Hans Herr Elementary School: 717-509-0300
Martin Meylin Middle School: 717-509-0289
Lampeter-Strasburg High School: 717-509-0485


Lampeter-Strasburg School District© 2021 Lampeter-Strasburg School District, All Rights Reserved.
 website built and created by M StreetLampeter-Strasburg School District's website built and created by
M Street, Website Design Agency Lancaster PA
Your Name