stay connected

School Board Reorganizes for 2018

Madrigals at Reorg 201

The Madrigals perform for past and present school directors and administrators at the District's annual Board Reorganization event.

The Lampeter-Strasburg Board of School Directors held its annual reorganization meeting on Monday, December 4, 2017.

New Members

Dustin D. Knarr and Susan A. Rhoades officially joined the Lampeter-Strasburg Board of School Directors on Monday, December 4, 2017. Mr. Knarr won his seat in the November 7 election and Mrs. Rhoades was appointed to the Board in November. The two were sworn in by District Magistrate William E. Benner, Jr., at the annual Board Reorganization meeting.

Susan Rhoades LSSD Board 2017 Swearing In Susan A. Rhoades

Susan A. Rhoades

Mrs. Rhoades resides in Strasburg Borough with her husband and two children. Her youngest son is currently a senior at L-S. She works in sales and marketing at Armstrong World Industries.

"I'm joining the Board to help support the good schools my children were fortunate to attend and to give back to the community now that they're moving on from L-S."

Dustin Knarr LSSD Board 2017 Swearing In Dustin D. Knarr

Dustin D. Knarr

Mr. Knarr resides in West Lampeter Township with his wife and four children: a 2015 graduate, a junior, a seventh grader, and a fourth grader. He is the CEO of Calloway House, an educational supplier.

"Dealing directly with schools and procurement over the last few years, I think one thing schools tend to struggle with is fiscal responsibility and how and when to allocate funds. These decisions impact a community and students. I don’t think there are any major issues facing the LS Board at this juncture. What I bring to the table is a business acumen and financial responsibility to ensure we are doing the best with what we have and we are preparing our younger generations to be able to survive in this world through education and life experiences. I represent many youth clubs and booster organizations in our L-S community, and I am confident that I can best represent and speak on behalf of community members and peers."

Outgoing Members

Mills Packer Board Retirees

Mr. Jeffrey A. Mills and Dr. Doreen L. Packer

The new Board members replaced retiring members Dr. Doreen L. Packer and Jeffrey A. Mills. Dr. Packer, a retired school administrator from West Lampeter Township, served on the Board from 2011-2017. Mr. Mills, an attorney who resides in Strasburg Borough, served from 2005-2017, including a two-year tenure as Board President.

Current Members

Board executives remain unchanged from 2017. Mrs. Melissa S. Herr of West Lampeter Township will continue as president and Mrs. Patricia Pontz of Strasburg Borough will continue as vice president. Current Board members are Mr. Scott M. Arnst, Mr. David J.Beiler, Mr. James H. Byrnes, Mr. Scott J. Kimmel, and Mrs. Audra R. Spahn. Mr. Beiler, Mr. Kimmel, and Mrs. Pontz were re-elected and sworn in again this year for four-year terms.

School board members are volunteers and the position comes with a great degree of commitment and responsibility. Every Board member, past and present, is greatly appreciated for his or her service to the L-S community.

Pioneer white on Transparent footer
Join Our Communities

Lampeter-Strasburg School District
1600 Book Rd., Lancaster PA 17602

Phone: 717-464-3311

Administration Building: 717-464-4699
Lampeter Elementary School: 717-358-1880
Hans Herr Elementary School: 717-509-0300
Martin Meylin Middle School: 717-509-0289
Lampeter-Strasburg High School: 717-509-0485


Lampeter-Strasburg School District© 2021 Lampeter-Strasburg School District, All Rights Reserved.
 website was developed by M StreetLampeter-Strasburg School District's website was developed by
M Street, Web Design in Lancaster PA
Your Name